International Tournament on Intellectual Games ''Shield and Sword'' of the Academy of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Republic of Belarus

International tournament on intellectual games ''Shield and Sword'' of the Academy of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Republic of Belarus

The Academy of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Republic of Belarus, with the support of the Belarusian League of Intellectual Teams, annually organizes an international tournament on intellectual games "Shield and Sword". The program of the event includes two test games - "Scrabble quartet" and "What? Where? When". According to the rules of the tournament, each team includes no more than six participants under the age of 23.

The tournament "Shield and Sword" was born in 2005 at the investigative-expert faculty of the Academy of the Ministry of Internal Affairs on the initiative of cadets. The purpose of the event was to popularize the intellectual forms of leisure for young people, get acquainted with the methodological achievements of clubs of intellectual creativity, develop cooperation with educational institutions of Belarus and abroad, exchange of experience and knowledge. Having received the international status, the youth forum in different years was recognized by the Belarusian League of Intellectual Teams as the best student tournament of the year and the 20th anniversary. The tournament has been given the status of outgoing to the championships of Belarus and Europe on intellectual games among student teams.

Traditionally, teams from Belarus and Russia take part. Along with the students are cadets of educational institutions of the law enforcement system. The winning team is awarded with the tournament cup, the best team of power schools - a special cup and a diploma.

Publications about the tournament

Международный турнир по интеллектуальным играм «Щит и меч» Академии МВД Республики Беларусь

Международный турнир по интеллектуальным играм «Щит и меч» Академии МВД Республики Беларусь

Академия МВД Республики Беларусь при поддержке Белорусской лиги интеллектуальных команд ежегодно проводит международный турнир по интеллектуальным играм «Щит и меч». В программу мероприятия входят две зачетные игры – «Эрудит-квартет» и «Что? Где? Когда?». По правилам турнира в составе каждой команды не более шести участников в возрасте до 23 лет.

Турнир «Щит и меч» зародился в 2005 году на следственно-экспертном факультете Академии МВД по инициативе курсантов. Целью мероприятия являлись популяризация интеллектуальных форм досуга молодежи, ознакомление с методическими наработками клубов интеллектуального творчества, развитие сотрудничества с учреждениями образования Беларуси и зарубежья, обмен опытом и знаниями. Получив международный статус, молодежный форум в различные годы признавался Белорусской лигой интеллектуальных команд лучшим студенческим турниром года и 20-летия. Турниру присвоен статус выводящего на чемпионаты Беларуси и Европы по интеллектуальным играм среди студенческих команд.

Традиционно участие принимают сборные команды из Беларуси и России. Наряду со студентами выступают курсанты образовательных учреждений правоохранительной системы. Команда-победительница награждается кубком турнира, лучшая команда среди силовых вузов – специальным кубком и грамотой.

Публикации о турнире на интернет-сайте Академии МВД