European Higher Education Area

The objectives of this process are:

  • building a European zone of higher education as a key direction for the development of mobility of citizens with the possibility of employment;

  • formation and strengthening of intellectual, cultural, social and scientific and technical potential of Europe; increase of prestige in the world of the European higher school;

  • ensuring the competitiveness of European universities; achieving greater compatibility and comparability of national higher education systems; improving the quality of education;

  • increase the central role of universities in the development of European cultural values, when universities are seen as carriers of European consciousness.

Countries join the Bologna Declaration on a voluntary basis. By signing the Declaration, they assume certain obligations.

Website of the European Higher Education Area:

Countries participating in the Bologna Process: Austria, Azerbaijan, Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Vatican, Great Britain, Hungary, Germany, Greece, Georgia, Denmark, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Italy, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, Ukraine, Finland, France, Croatia, Montenegro, Estonia, Belarus.

Information on the implementation in the national higher education system of the tools of the European Higher Education Area is